Australian Map Explained


In Australia over 200 different languages and dialects are spoken, including 45 indigenous languages. The most commonly spoken languages (other than English) are Italian, Greek, Cantonese, Arabic, Vietnamese and Mandarin.

Map Of Australia

New South Wales (NSW)

Capital: Sydney

Sydney is Australia’s largest city and home to some of Australia’s most famous landmarks including Sydney Harbour, Sydney Opera House and Bondi Beach. Sydney has a warm temperate climate and has a population of 4,254,900.


Capital: Melbourne

Melbourne is Australia’s second largest capital city and home to some of Australia’s best cafes and restaurants. Melbourne has great events and has a passion for food and wine. Melbourne is located on Port Phillip Bay in Australia’s South East and has a population of 3,634,200.

Queensland (QLD)

Capital: Brisbane

Brisbane has the fastest growing population of all Australian cities. Its sub tropical climate makes Brisbane one of Australia’s most popular holiday destinations. The population of Brisbane is 1,810,900.

Western Australia (WA)

Capital: Perth

Nestled on the banks of the Swan River, Perth is the only major city on the west coast of Australia. Perth enjoys a Mediterranean style climate and has some of Australia’s best cultural and artistic centres. The population of Perth is 1,477,800.

South Australia (SA)

Capital: Adelaide

Adelaide is situated between the Mount Lofty Ranges and the waters of Gulf St Vincent. Adelaide has some of Australia’s best wines and is considered to be the wine and festival capital of Australia. Adelaide ‘s dry climate is often compared to a Mediterranean style climate. The population of Adelaide is 1,129,300.

Tasmania (TAS)

Capital: Hobart

Hobart is Australia’s second oldest capital city. Hobart is situated on the banks Derwent Estuary, one of the world’s great deepwater ports and is the destination to a one of the toughest blue water sailing classics, the Sydney to Hobart Yacht Race. The population of Hobart is 203,600.

Northern Territory (NT)

Capital: Darwin

Darwin is Australia’s most northern capital city, located on the northwest coast of Australia. Darwin is named after the famous scientist Charles Darwin and is Australia’s only tropical capital city. Darwin is commonly referred to as the ‘Top End’ and has a population of 111,300.

Australian Capital Territory (ACT)

Capital: Canberra

Canberra is the Nation’s Capital. The city seats Federal Parliament and is home to Australia’s national institutions. The climate in Canberra is cooler compared to other Australian cities with Canberra being located approximately 150 kilometres north of the Australian snowfields. The population of Canberra is 324,800.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: