Expat AU in Mongolia

Австралийн иргэний харъяалалаас гарч Монголд амьдарч буй нэгэн Австрали хүний тухай Эй Би Си мэдээлжээ. Энэ хүний Монгол дахь аж амьдрал, Монголын талаар ямар төсөөлөлтэй явдаг тухай сонирхоно уу.

http://www.abc.net.au/sydney/stories/s1569299.htm

Expat – Keiran Logan, Ulaanbaatar, MONGOLIA

Presenter: Sarah MacDonald

photo of Mongolian Ger

Nomadic Mongolians live in these portable Gers all year round. They eat, sleep and cook in them. (photo: Yvette Farrell 2005)

Listen to 702 Breakfast, just before the 6am News on Monday, Wednesday and Fridays for the Expats. Today’s expat was Keiran Logan who lives in Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia.

Use the audio link at the bottom of this page to hear Keiran’s chat with Sarah.

Who dobbed you in?
My ex-wife, Yani Silvana, and my daughter, Madelin.

Where did you grow up?
New South Wales, Queensland and Western Australia. I went to 12 different schools.

Did you go to University or College?
Yes. I studied at Sydney University.

Did you work in Australia?
Yes. Although I was based in Australia until 1996, I worked mainly in Asia and the Pacific. After 1996, I was based in Johannesburg and then in Mongolia from 2004.

Did you travel/work/live in any other countries?
Yes. I’ve travelled many times to Papua New Guinea, Fiji, Vanuatu, Indonesia, Philippines, Russia, Niger, South Africa, China and Mongolia.

How did you end up in Ulaanbaatar?
I went to a conference in Canada two years ago, I had a choice of working in Africa or Mongolia. I chose Mongolia. I’ve made my friends here and I’m on the same wavelength as my Mongolian colleagues.

What do you do for work?
I’m an Exploration Geophysicist and Director of my own company. I do surveys for companies exploring for gold, copper, coal and uranium.

Describe where you live:
Mongolia is between Russia and China, the home of the famous Chingiss Khan and his hordes. I live in Ulaanbaatar, the capital.

From spring, I spend a lot of time in the countryside with Mongolia crews. This is mainly in the Gobi desert. I also spend sometime in Beijing too.

What’s the name of the biggest city?
Ulaanbaatar (UB).

Do you live in a house or apartment?
I live in an apartment. It’s similar to the ones found in Russia with central heating and hot water.

When I’m staying in the countryside at exploration camps, we stay in Mongolian Gers (Yurt).

Is there much wildlife in your area?
Not in Ulaanbaatar, but in the countryside – yes. Wolves, foxes, domestic sheep, camels, goats, horses (Mongolian version), antelope and eagles.

What do you miss about Sydney?
Vegemite. Beaches, the ocean, seafood and highways. Seeing my daughter.

Who would you like to say to cheerio to?
My daughter, Madelin, who has started high school again. My ex-wives, Yani and Anya; my mother, Elaine, and sister’s family – Bronwyn, Bella and Frans.

If you’ve enjoyed reading Keiran’s story about life abroad and you’re also an Australian expat or you’d like to dob someone in who is, why not call us + 61 2 8333 1231 or fill in our online form. [ more ]
Expat – Keiran Logan

Audio – click to hear Expat-Keiran Logan talk about living abroad.
Leave a Reply

